Film & TV
Now Reading
Cannes Film Festival: The Awards Handed Out In 2015
146 0

Cannes Film Festival: The Awards Handed Out In 2015

by Deric EctMay 25, 2015

The Cannes Film Festival handed out its awards today in Cannes, France.  The film festival ran from the 13th to the 24th of May. Here are the award recipients of the main competition as well as from other sections of the festival.

Festival de Cannes

Main Competition

Palme d’Or: Dheepan, directed by Jacques Audiard

(The Palme d’Or is the highest award at the festival so this basically signifies the competition winner.)

Grand Prix: Son of Saul, directed by Laszlo Nemes

(This is like a lesser version of the Palme d’Or, it can also be seen as the first runner-up at Cannes.)

Jury Prize: The Lobster, directed by Yorgos Lanthimos

(This award is given to the second runner-up of the festival.)

Camera d’Or: La Tierra y la Sombre, directed by Cesar Acevedo

(This one is given out to first features or directorial debuts.)

Best Director: Hou Hsiao-Hsien for The Assassin

Best Screenplay: Michel Franco for Chronic

Best Actress: Rooney Mara for Carol & Emmanuelle Bercot for Mon Roi

Best Actor: Vincent Lindon for The Measure of a Man

Palme d’Or du court métrage: Waves ’98, directed by Ely Dagher

(This one’s for short films.)

Cinéfondation: Share, directed by Pippa Bianco

(This one’s for student films.)

L’Œil d’OrBeyond My Grandfather Allende, directed by Marcia Tambutti Allende

(This one’s for documentaries and it’s just been introduced.)


Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard: Hrútar, directed by Grímur Hákonarson

(The Un Certain Regard selection is made up of more daring and innovative works.)

Un Certain Regard Jury PrizeThe High Sun by Dalibor Matanić

Un Certain Regard Award for Best Director: Kiyoshi Kurosawa for Journey to the Shore

Prix Un Certain Talent: The Treasure by Corneliu Porumboiu

Un Certain Regard Special Prize for Promising FutureNahid by Ida Panahandeh & Masaan by Neeraj Ghaywan


International Federation of Film Critics

International Federation of Film Critics Prize for Main Competition: Son of Saul, directed by László Nemes

International Federation of Film Critics Prize for Un Certain Regard: Masaan, directed by Neeraj Ghaywan

International Federation of Film Critics Prize for Parallel Section: Paulina, directed by Santiago Mitre


The American Pavilion

Emerging Filmmaker Showcase Best Short Film: Bis Gleich, directed by Benjamin Wolff

Emerging Filmmaker Showcase Best Student Film: Welcome, directed by Serena Dykman

Emerging Filmmaker Best DocumentaryHollygrove: The True Life Story of Monserrat, directed by Carlo Hurtado

Emerging Filmmaker Best Student Documentary: The Game Changer, directed by Indrani Kopal

LGBTQ ShowcaseAban + Khorshid, directed by Darwin Serink


Awards from other entities

Prize of the Ecumenical Jury: Mia Madre, by Nanni Moretti

Queer Palm: Carol, directed by Todd Haynes

Palm Dog: Lucky The Maltipoo, Arabian Nights

(The Palm Dog is given out to the best canine performer at the festival.)


About The Author
Profile photo of Deric Ect
Deric Ect
Deric is contributor and former managing editor of The Daily Seni.

Leave a Response